View All Scores


The Greater Metro Jr. A Hockey League

President's Message: Niagara Championship

 March 27th, 2017 at 4:45PM  March 27th, 2017 5:28PM


The Greater Metro Junior A Hockey League's Niagara Whalers have won the 2017 Russell Cup Championship.

A four game sweep over the Parry Sound Islanders secured the championship title for the Whalers.

GMHL President Bob Russell commented on the Niagara win: "I would like to congratulate Steve Quinn and his Niagara Whalers on winning the GMHL's 11th Russell Cup Championship in front of a full house in Port Colborne!! Parry Sound Islanders put a good fight but the Whalers prevailed with a 7-1 win. Kudos to Head Coach Terry Masterson and the Niagara staff for putting together one of the best teams to ever compete in the GMHL."

League News